2016 JAC Awards

The winners are in bold letters. Congratulations to all the winners!

Judged Categories

Roots Award  – Sponsored by Diversified Construction of Wisconsin
Dawn Kenseth – Lighting Designer/Stage Technician
• Angelea Presti – Photographer
• Eleanor Moriarty-Taylor – Production Manager

Emerging Star Award – Sponsored by Culver’s
• Carley Coomer (Dancer)
• Baylee Grischow (Dancer)
Hannah Piper (Musician/Vocalist)
• Grace Schmaling (Dancer)
• Catherine Smith (Vocalist)

Outstanding Performance Arts Educator – Sponsored by Knapton Music Knotes
Megan Pohl (Dance Attitudes)
• Kathy Smith (Rising Stars Dance Studio)
• Jennifer Wiczer (Milton School District)

Outstanding Fine Arts Educator – Sponsored by Voigt Music Store
Liz Carpenter (Beloit Memorial High School)
• Amanda Mory (Janesville School District – Van Buren Elementary)
• Cindy Ward (Janesville School District – Jackson Elementary)

Outstanding Original Song – Sponsored by Yarrow Healthcare
• Anthony Burton – “Reflectors”
Sam Hansen – “Blue Storm”
• Kat & The Hurricane – “Rope Burn”
• Teresa Nguyen – “Paris, Mon Amour”
• Cherie Norquay – “Follow Me”

Outstanding Music Group – Sponsored by Gemini Music Studios
• Dusty Bottoms
Shotgun Jane
• Zero II Sixty

Outstanding Fine Artist – Sponsored by Raven’s Wish Studios
• Gary Gandy (Painter)
• Sophie Hansen (Painter)
Larry Schultz (Painter)

Outstanding Creative Writer – Sponsored by United Arts Alliance
• Traci Bold – “The Case of the Missing Guinea Pig”
• Pat Hall – “Beasties”
• Jim Lyke – “Return of the Farm Boys”
Gayle Lange-Puhl – “Sherlock Holmes and The Folk Tale Mysteries Volume 1”

Outstanding Original Film – Sponsored by Gemini Music Studios
Drywater Productions – “Vets Roll Trip 2014”
• Dwight Miller – “Mother’s Day Surprise Party”

People’s Choice Awards –

Outstanding Solo Performer – Sponsored by Lamar Advertising
• Baylee Grischow (Dancer)
• Vickie Lynn (Comedian)
Sydney Mallon (Dancer)
• Jessica Minter (Vocalist)
• Grace Schmaling (Dancer)

Outstanding Dance Group – Sponsored by Callie and Jeroen Schouten
• 5-6-7-8 Dance Studio (Janesville)
Dance Attitudes (Janesville)
• First Position Dance Studio (Janesville)

Outstanding Culinary Artist – Sponsored by Woodman’s Food Markets
• Bushel and Peck’s (Beloit)
Hailey’s Sweets & Treats (Janesville)
• O’Riley and Conway’s Irish Pub (Janesville)

Outstanding Actor – Sponsored by the Rock County Theatre Guild
• Kolten Bell (The Engineer in “Miss Saigon” – Rock River Repertory Theatre Company)
Tom Kalhagen (Man in Chair in “The Drowsy Chaperone” – Edgerton High School)
• Jacob Schmidt (Marius in “Les Miserables” – Rock River Repertory Theatre Company & The Phantom in “Phantom of the Opera” – Janesville School District)

Outstanding Actress – Sponsored by the Rock County Theatre Guild
• Jasmine Bianes (Eponine in “Les Miserables” – Janesville School District)
• Aly Hopson (Oda Mae in “Ghost” – Janesville Parker High School, Pilar in “Legally Blonde” – Bower City Theatre Company)
Amy Krebs (Riff Raff in “Rocky Horror Picture Show” – Stage One, Inc. & Theatre Unlimited, Inc.)

Dennis Vechinsky Award for Outstanding High School Play/Musical – Sponsored by the Rock County Theatre Guild
• Ghost (Janesville Parker High School)
• Jekyll & Hyde (Janesville Craig High School)
Phantom of the Opera (Janesville School District)
• Romeo and Juliet (Janesville Parker High School)
• Shrek The Musical (Beloit Memorial High School)

Dennis Vechinsky Award for Outstanding Community Theater Play/Musical – Sponsored by the Rock County Theatre Guild
• Legally Blonde (Bower City Theatre Company)
• Les Miserables (Rock River Repertory Theatre Company)
• Mary Poppins (Spotlight on Kids)
Postnuptial Agreement (Janesville Performing Arts Center)
• The Rocky Horror Show (Stage One, Inc & Theatre Unlimited, Inc.)

Outstanding Hair Salon or Spa – Sponsored by United Arts Alliance
Indira Spa & Salon (Janesville)
• Salon Anne (Janesville)
• Zoi’A Spa & Salon (Janesville)

Outstanding Photographer – Sponsored by JAX Printing
Gutzman Photography
• Lisa Karr Photography
• Tom Purdy

%d bloggers like this: